Heywood Wakefield Midcentury

  • Heywood Brothers was established in 1826, Wakefield Company in 1855, and they merged in 1897. In the beginning it was mainly wicker furniture and accessories, but nowadays Heywood-Wakefield is mainly known for its midcentury modern blond furniture, in wheat or champagne. In this week's program we'll look at a few wicker pieces, but primarily we'll examine the midcentury furniture: a corner bookcase, a 9 drawer dresser with mirror, a headboard, and a 2-tier side table; and we'll compare the HW pieces with other pieces of midcentury furniture. I think you'll see why there's a premium for Heywood-Wakefield. We'll be on at the usual time, this coming Sunday evening, March 18, 2018: 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT. Hope you can join us! Gary