Fred Harvey & His "Indian Detours"

  • On Tuesday's show I have the pleasure of welcoming Mary & Raymond Koernig as guests. They are historians and the owners of RMK Tours, which provides guided tours to, among other venues, the Fred Harvey establishments in the Southwest. Fred Harvey was the quintessential American entrepreneur who successfully developed the restaurant business with the railroad business, and then layered on cultural tourism, with his "Indian Detours" in New Mexico. Anybody ever hear of "The Harvey Girls?" The La Fonda Hotel in Santa Fe, which Carol & I stay at a couple of times a year, was a Harvey property. This will be an especially interesting chat with 2 real experts. Hope to see everyone at the usual time, tomorrow, Tuesday, at 5PM PST, 6PM MST, 7PM CST, 8PM EST. Gary