Works of Art Under Glass

  • You walk into an antique store and spot a painting that looks interesting. It's under glass. The tag says it's a watercolor by a famous artist. What a find! But is it? Maybe it's not a watercolor. Maybe it's a hand colored lithograph or an aquatint or an etching or an engraving. Perhaps it's a hand colored photo or a gouache or a colored drawing. Could it be a woodcut or a woodblock print? Maybe it's an offset print. Maybe it's a more exotic mixed media, or a giclee. In Tuesday's show I'll discuss how to identify works of art under glass. It's trickier than almost any other aspect of antique/art indentification, but, for me at least, it's the most important element in my business (and has been for 40 years). We'll look at 18th century lithographs, Egyptian painting on papyrus, Currier & Ives lithos vs Currier & Ives prints, Maxfield Parrish prints, Japanese woodblock prints, limited editions, Wallace Nutting photos vs. Wallace Nutting prints, serigraphs (which can easily be mistaken for watercolors), and we'll look at watercolors & gouaches, which are original works of art. Did you know that Gustave Baumann woodcuts sell for more than his watercolors, but that there are many reproductions of his woodcuts that are worth basically nothing? How can you know?? We'll devote 1 hour Tuesday evening to answer all these questions. Hope you can join us in the chat room at the usual time, 5PM PST, 6PM MST, 7PM CST, 8PM EST. Gary