Deco Design--It Doesn't Have to Be Expensive

  • Most people in the antiques or design professions think of Art Deco as that high style of French design associated with the Exposition Internationale des Arts Decoratifs et Industriels Modernes held in Paris in 1925. Pieces made by those leading designers, such as Emile-Jacques Ruhlmann, Eileen Gray, Jean Dunand, Charles Catteau, and Jacques Adnet, can sell for astronomical prices. Deco design, however, spread beyond France (the purists would say it got diluted; others would say it expanded, grew). In Tuesday's show we'll define Art Deco style and look at some great examples of "pure" Deco design that are not expensive. I'm not talking about contemporary cheap Chinese knockoffs. We'll be looking at period (1925-1939) pieces, some by noted designers, that sell for less than you might think. Hope you can join us in the chat room or watch online at the usual time, 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT. Gary