Lithographs & Other Prints

  • In Tuesday's show we'll discuss how to distinguish between original works of art, such as watercolors and oils, and reproductions. And we'll discuss how to distinguish among the various forms of reproductions or prints, such as lithographs, aquatints, etchings, engravings, dry point, woodcuts, woodblock prints, offset prints, giclees. Because different forms of printing were used at different times, determining the type of printing process can often provide a clue to dating. But not always! We'll discuss limited editions, pencil signing, signatures "in the plate", hand coloring, Currier & Ives, Maxfield Parrish, and anything else you have questions about. I get more questions about this subject than all the other categories combined. I hope everyone is able to tune in live Tuesday at 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT. The Presidential debate starts an hour later, so no excuses! Gary