Seasonality in the Antiques Business

  • Black Friday, Small Business Saturday, Cyber Monday, the holiday season--we all know how important this time of year is to the retail trade. How important is it to the antiques business? And what about the summer season? Is the antiques furniture business tied to the spring season for new home purchases? I've been an antiques dealer in London, New York, Florida, and Colorado, and exactly the same seasonality pattern has existed over the last 40 years in all of those markets. Through the ups & downs of the economic cycle seasonality has continued to exert the primary influence on sales & prices. In Tuesday's show we'll examine the impact of seasonality on the antiques business, and look for ways to profit from this phenomenon. Please join us in the chat room at the usual time on Tuesday at 5PM PST, 6PM MST, 7 PM CST, 8 PM EST. Gary