Tobacciana

  • It's no secret that antique & vintage tobacco-related items have suffered a decline in interest & value among collectors, however many collectibles included in the broad category of tobacciana have maintained & inhanced their interest because they are cross-collected in other categories. They might be collected by those interested in advertising, tramp & other folk art, Art Deco, World's Fair memorabilia, Masonic & other fraternal order memorabilia, etc--the list is almost endless. In Tuesday's show we'll look at tobacciana from that perspective, and examine Native American stone pipes, Handel humidors that have Masonic motifs, tobacco silks, advertising trade cards, signs, meerschaum pipes, & many other interesting pieces. Please join us in the chat room Tuesday at the usual time, 5PM PST, 6 PM MST, 7 PM CST, 8 PM EST for a discussion of this unloved (& misunderstood?) category. Gary