Classifieds + Tiffany Sterling Silver

  • 2 for Tuesday this week--first Ski & I will be in the chat room for our monthly Classified Ads show at 2PM PDT, 3PM MDT, 4PM CDT, 5PM EDT, then I'll be back for my usual Tuesday evening chat at 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT. This week's subject is Tiffany Sterling Silver. A couple of weeks ago I did a show trying to make the case for collecting at the high end, but I mentioned a couple of categories where I thought that you could aim a little lower and still be in position to benefit from value increases over time. One of those exceptions was for Tiffany sterling silver. So, in Tuesday evening's show I'll bring a few examples, and we'll examine the proposition that collecting antique (and I do mean antique) Tiffany wares, especially sterling, allows you to get in with lower priced pieces and still position yourself to benefit by being able to sell at a profit as you move up the value chain. We'll look at some very early Tiffany sterling from the 1850's, checking the marks for dating, and consider changes in style thru the Victorian period with the Japanese inspired spectacular works by Edward Chandler Moore, and then we'll look at some early 20th century examples that are prime for the price appreciation you should expect as items turn 100 years old. Please join us for both shows. Look forward to seeing everyone online or in the chat room. Click "Connect" to participate. Gary