19th Century Patents, Copyrights & Trademarks

  • I just acquired the Official Gazettes of the U. S. Patent Office for one quarter in 1893 & 2 quarters in 1897. It may not be what everyone likes to do on a Saturday night, but I haven't been able to put these books down. Here we have described some of the great American inventions of the Industrial Revolution: safety devices for preventing elevators from falling, incandescent light bulbs, ore separators, etc. etc. In Tuesday evening's show we'll examine these huge volumes, looking for patents that cover items in our collections. We'll discuss a guide for dating through patent numbers. About a month ago I did a show on the transition from gas & oil lamps to electric lamps--thru these patents you can follow the changes & see what furthered the development & what didn't. I see this as more than a generalized social & economic history--it's a way of placing the antiques we own in their specific contexts. Please join me at the usual time on Tuesday: 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT. Just click "Connect" at the top of the page. Gary