Prices Now & Then

  • In Tuesday evening's show we'll look at prices paid for specific collectibles, both recently and at various times over the past 20 years or so in order to determine whether we can identify trends in certain categories. For instance, I'll take a recent price achieved at auction for a particular mechanical bank, then we'll compare that with prices for that item 5 yrs ago, 10 yrs ago, & 20 yrs ago. And we'll do this for items in many categories: dolls, oak furniture, mahogany furniture, folk art, coins, maps, samplers, western art, midcentury modern furniture, art pottery, Meissen, etc. Instead of using estimates, as they do on Antiques Roadshow, we'll use actual prices paid, and we'll try to make sure we're comparing apples with apples. In that regard we'll have to make sure that the condition of 2 items compared is similar. Then, if we do identify trends in specific categories, we'll try to posit reasons for those price changes, as a way to predict likely values going forward. In past shows I've pointed out that prices in some categories seem to be increasing, while in others values clearly are falling. In Tuesday's show we'll attempt to examine this dynamic more rigorously. In the final analysis then, perhaps we as antiques enthusiasts and dealers can not only hope to respond to price changes more effectively, maybe we can identity ways actually to influence people's perceptions of value by accentuating the positives. A lofty but worthy goal! If any of you would like for us to consider a category of particular interest to you, please let me know before the show. We're on at the usual time Tuesday at 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT. See you then, Gary