Prices Now & Then Part II

  • In last week's show we began an analysis of pricing trends over the past 20 years, by focusing on the following categories: mechanical banks, postwar & contemporary art, midcentury modern furniture, and western American art. We'll continue this examination of current & past prices in additional categories in Tuesday evening's show. We'll look at antique dolls, signed art photographs, Victorian furniture, and books. If anyone would like for us to include other categories of special interest to you, please let me know. Our ultimate goal is to analyze pricing trends to identify possible reasons for these price changes, so that we may better predict likely price movements in the future. In a best case scenario we may even be able to influence demand by promoting the positives in a given category, if we can identify factors that increased demand in the past. That's something I've been thinking about a lot lately, and I've got a few ideas, but I don't yet feel ready to put them out there without data to back them up. Please join me online or in the chat room, as we try to understand better the ever changing marketplace for antiques & collectibles. We're live Tuesday at 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT. Gary