Steiff Bears

  • During the Classified Ads Show on Saturday Heather, Tom, and I evaluated a Steiff bear listed in the iAntique Classifieds. If you watched it, you know that we really struggled over assigning a value to it, as on close examination it exhibited so many special features and condition issues that I don't think we really pinned it down. Steiff has made & continues to make millions of bears & other animals, and for the vintage & antique animals over time they've each become so individualized as regards condition, etc. that the best you can do is provide value ranges. In Tuesday's show, then, we'll consider all the variables that go into appraising antique & vintage Steiff bears. Also, I think that by analyzing Steiff bears carefully, we'll gain insights into evaluating the broader categories of dolls & toys, as we'll be looking at the changing values for these collectibles over the past 20 years or so, and the factors that have gone into the price changes we've witnessed. Linda Mullins has written several books on Steiff, and we'll be drawing heavily on her expertise by referring to examples in her books. I consider her to be the ultimate word on the subject, and if you want to take this study of Steiff to the next level, then I recommend her books highly. Please join us by clicking Live Shows a few minutes before show time Tuesday at 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT. Gary