Antique Rosewood Furniture

  • Why has rosewood been the preferred wood for high-end furniture for centuries? As preferences for mahogany, walnut, and oak have fluctuated as styles have changed, why has rosewood been perceived as above style? Why is it "classic"? In Tuesday's show we'll take a close look at what makes rosewood furniture special--its qualities, its suitability for furniture design, its timelessness. Also, the desirability of rosewood for furniture making is not just a Western phenomenon--we'll consider Far Eastern use of the wood. It's very unusual for me to have 4 pieces of rosewood furniture in inventory, but right now I do, so we'll examine these pieces carefully to determine why rosewood was chosen by the makers & how the design and functionality are enhanced by that choice. Please join us in the chat room at the usual time, Tuesday at 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT for this week's show on antiques. Gary