Scott Gottula, GM of Brass Armadillo

  • In next Tuesday's show I'm joined by Scott Gottula, General Manager of the Brass Armadillo Antique Mall in Denver, CO, for a discussion of the business of running & operating as a vendor in an antique mall. Scott & I will walk throughout the Mall discussing, among other things: sales promotions & how to run them; optimal location for antique malls; breakdown in square footage for showcases, booths, aisles, food service, and checkout space; proper display of merchandise in the showcases and booths; qualities to look for in hiring staff; techniques for enhancing community interest; techniques for inspiring staff, vendors, & customers; store hours; how to cut down on theft; how to integrate a store platform with iAntique & cross-merchandise between those 2 channels, etc. Scott has run this Mall, one of the largest & best run malls in America for 14 years. His experience is invaluable in providing insights into store management. I interviewed Scott about 18 months ago, and that show is in the Videos section. In the show next Tuesday Scott will elaborate on & update his views, including on how the new accounting & checkout system is working. We'll be taping this program in advance, as we'll be walking around the Mall & it will need to be edited. Show's on at the usual time next Tuesday, October 29, 2013 at 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT. Gary