Antique Oak Furniture Part I

  • In Sunday's show we focus on antique oak furniture. I've walked throughout the Mall and found some great examples of golden oak, fumed oak, quarter-sawn oak, white oak, red oak, mortise and tenon oak joints, Larkin oak desks, English oak, American oak, original finish oak, refinished oak, and oak in all the ways it was fashioned into furniture from the late 19th to the early 20th centuries. I didn't find any examples of oak from earlier times, so in the following week's show I'll profile some pieces I find online from the 16th, 17th, and 18th centuries. But that will be Part II. This coming Sunday, March 9, 2014, we'll examine the many pieces that I found in the Mall that are representative of oak furniture from the turn of the century (19th-20th). Please join us at the usual time on Sunday at 6PM PDT, 7PM MDT, 8PM CDT, 9PM EDT. Gary