Antique Oak Furniture

  • Last week's first installment of Antique Oak Furniture was unfortunately interrupted by transmission problems, so we'll be re-airing Antique Oak Furniture Part I (19th & early 20th centuries) this Sunday evening, March 16, 2014 at the usual time: 6PM PDT, 7PM MDT, 8PM CDT, 9PM EDT. Then the following Sunday we'll air Part II, which is Antique Oak Furniture from the 16th, 17th, and 18th centuries. In the first part I've walked throughout the Mall finding examples of oak furniture from several countries, in contrasting finishes, employing different construction methods and different wood cuts, and we discuss values for all the pieces. In Part II I've relied on finding good examples for comparison in the online world. Hope you can join us for all the weekly shows on every Sunday evening, and apologies for the transmission problems last week. We also taped our monthly Classified Ads show this week. Heather, Tom, & I discussed a great variety of pieces recently listed in the Classifieds (including Auctions), and we had a long discussion on shipping issues and costs. That show will be posted in a day or 2. I would welcome all comments & questions related to shipping. You can still exploit regional differences in pricing, especially for large, bulkly items. Gary