The Devil's in the Details but What Are the Details?

  • We all know that the devil's in the details, but some antique "experts" would like for us to believe that the details are privileged pieces of information known only to a select few. Actually, I think that the details are usually knowable by anyone who cares to take the time to learn about them. That's why I do these shows. It's my attempt to inspire people to pursue this field of endeavor, because, in the end it's really not rocket science. You don't have to be a mathematical genius or an artistic genius to thrive in the field of antiques. Further, I think that once anyone does master the details, he or she can find treasures hidden in plain view for sale in antique stores, antique malls, at auctions & estate sales, and online. So, in this week's show I discuss 5 categories that exhibit the characteristics that I think lend themselves to being understood without too much difficulty + examples of which are often seen for sale at reasonable prices. Please join us for our usual Sunday evening lineup, this Sunday, May 25, 2014, with my show starting at 6PM PDT, 7PM MDT, 8PM CDT, 9PM EDT. Gary