South Park City Museum in Fairplay, CO

  • Our Sunday night line up is back on, and my show airs an hour earlier than before, at 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT. This week we take a tour through an extraordinary reconstruction of an 1880 Colorado mining town. South Park City Museum in Fairplay, CO is one of the great tourist attractions in the West. More than 30 buildings, including a general store, pharmacy, saloon, dentist's office, doctor's office, bank--all the shops that you would have seen if you were prospecting for gold or silver in late 19th century America. Many of the buildings actually occupy the same sites along Front Street that they were built on. And the most interesting thing about the Museum is that all the buildings are authentically fitted out with the furniture and accessories that these stores would have originally had. You won't believe the advertising collectibles in the general store and pharmacy. All this is at 10,000 ft in the Rocky Mountains, which provide an awe inspriring backdrop to our show. Join Dan Mayo, John Gunter, and me as we spend an incredible afternoon at South Park City. Gary