American Political Items Collectors Convention

  • We spent 3 great days this past week at the American Political Items Collectors National Convention, held for the first time in Denver, Colorado. Tune in this coming Sunday evening, August 10, for the highlights. We taped events throughout the convention, interviewed the Chairman of this year's convention, member-dealers who came to Denver from every corner of the country, and we sold a few choice pieces of our own at our table. We featured the Harry S. Truman poker table, which garnered incredible attention from members & the general public alike; we showed Jane Caron's remarkable archive of materials related to her father, George R. (Bob) Caron, the tailgunner of the Enola Gay & the man who took that iconic photo of the mushroom cloud in the aftermath of the Hiroshima bombing on August 6, 1945; we distributed photos signed by Mary Ann Moorman of her famous polaroid taken on the day of the JFK assassination (and got another lead on the events of that day, November 22, 1963--which we'll be following up on). We were visited by the new Denver representative of Cowan's Auction House in Cincinnati, and we discussed the Truman poker table & Caron archive with him. All in all we had a great time, and we learned a lot. We'll be sharing all this with you Sunday evening at 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT. Please join us in Live Shows. Gary