Seasonality in the Antiques Business

  • In November 2012 I did a show on the seasonality we've traditionally experienced in the antiques business (it's in the Videos section). Recently I've thought that some of that extreme seasonality might be evening out a little, so I've had a fresh look, and I think I've found some interesting changes. In this current show, an update on the Nov 2012 show, I've tried to put this theory to the test by looking at the results of 2 of the only publicly traded companies that operate in this space--Sotheby's & Ebay, and I share data from my own business, which is, of course, purely anecdotal. If this is a subject that interests you, then please tell us what you're experiencing regarding this phenomenon that has characterized our business forever, and please tune in to my show this coming Sunday evening, August 31, 2014. We're on at the usual time 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT. Gary