Polishing Your Brass

  • A how-to-do-it on polishing brass, using a huge antique Russian samovar & a mid-century modern sculpture as examples--that's this week's show on Sunday. The samovar was a yard sale find last week, and it was so totally uncared for that my wife said don't even think about buying it. It's now bright & shining & for sale for $385, and it's a steal at that price! The sculpture was sold to us as bronze by a high end gallery in Los Angeles. They should have watched my show on "Distinguishing Metals." Had they done so, they might have been able to identify the sculptor, as the piece is unsigned! We finish off by polishing our mascot, a brass armadillo. The poor little thing had gone long unattended and had turned a very ugly brown on us. Now he's also bright & shining & a very happy little guy. Hope everyone can join us this Sunday evening, November 23, 2014 at the usual time: 5PM PST, 6PM MST, 7PM CST, 8PM EST. Gary