The Last Emperor of China Part I

  • Please join us on Sunday for the first installment in Chris Yvez's presentation of his collection of art & antiques associated with the last emperor of China, Puyi. Among the pieces Chris discusses are: paintings exeucted by Puyi as a child, by hiim later in life, by his brother, and paintings handed down in his family from the 18th century that bear Puyi's mark; porcelain bearing the mark from the period 1908-1912; and perhaps most extraordinary of all, a pair of huge cloissonne cranes, each over 5' tall that once stood each side of the Emperor's throne. If you've seen our earlier shows highlighting Chris' world class collection of Chinese art & antiques, then you'll know that you're in for a real treat this Sunday as we begin a 2 part program devoted to The Last Emperor. The second installment will air 1 week later. Chris lent 2 of his pieces to Bernardo Bertolucci for use in his Academy Award winning film, "The Last Emperor." We're on this coming Sunday, April 5, Easter, 2015 at the usual time 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT. Since it's Easter you might enjoy re-visiting Chris' program entitled, "Relics of the Passion of Christ." These relics, owned by Chris and passed down in his family, the French Royal Houses of Valois and Bourbon, for centuries constitute the only such collection of the relics of the Passion of Christ in the United States. The show's in the archives--search Videos. Gary