Marriages That Work!

  • The furniture experts on Antiques Roadshow will always look first to see if an 18th century chest on chest was married or if it's always lived its life as 1 piece. The value of a married piece is obviously substantially less than one that is not. But I think that married pieces can often work well together, and in fact, can sometimes be worth more because they've married well. So, I've gone through the Mall looking for examples of marriages that work, and I'll share them with you in our show this coming Sunday evening. I've found chests, tables, cabinets, jewelry, and lamps that, I think, have benefitted by being married; but beauty is in the eye of the beholder, and you might think divorce is a better option for these pairs! Hope you can tune in at the usual time on Sunday, May 31, 2015, 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT. Oh, I almost forgot--I found a married goat cart. How do you think that will work out? Gary