Native American Painters

  • Our show this coming Sunday evening will examine paintings done by Native American artists. Among those discussed are the students of Dorthoy Dunn at the Studio School at the Santa Fe Indian School during the 1930's, the Kiowa Five, and more recent artists from several different tribes. I've just brought into the Mall for sale a gorgeous silkscreen dated 1952 by Allan Houser, a representative mixed media by Robert Redbird, 2 works by the Hopi artist, Erv Johnson + others, and we'll try to place these works in the context of Native American art of the last 100 years. We'l discuss the issue of self identification, much in the news these days!, of these & other artists of mixed ethnicity. Hope you can join us this coming Sunday evening, June 21, 2015, at the usual time: 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT. 7PM CDT. 8PM EDT. Gary