Lalique Glass

  • It's not often that I find a sensational $10,000+ piece of glass to work my show around, but this week I did! It's a Chamilles vase designed by Rene Lalique in 1926, and I found a couple of other great pieces of Lalique glass to compare with it: a 1930's ice bucket in clear glass, and a 1950's or '60's frosted dresser jar. We'll follow Rene Lalique's career from Art Nouveau jewelry designer in Paris through his transition to glass designer and manufacturer in the early 20th century to his pivotal role in defining Art Deco style at the 1925 Exposition des Arts Decoratifs et Industriels. We follow him to the rest of Europe and to the U.S., where his fabulous glass from the 1920's and '30's was sold at major American department stores, such as Ovington's in New York, Wanamaker's in Philadelphia, and Alexander & Oviatt's in Los Angeles. And we conclude with a discussion of the company, Lalique, which has continued since Rene's death in 1945 to the present day. Hope you  can join us this coming Sunday, August, 30, 2015, at the usual time: 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT. Gary