Depression Era Art from the 1930's

  • The WPA programs for artists didn't begin until 1935, and they lasted until 1943, but there's much more to 1930's American art than the post office and library murals that we all associate with the government programs that provided work for artists during the Depression. In this week's show we'll take a close look at the mural projects by examining a study for an early 1930's mural commissioned not by Uncle Sam, but by private enterprise. And we'll consider those wood block and lithographic works in black & white that so characterize our perceptions of the '30's. And we'll consider paintings by the artists that were working under Federal art programs before the War who became famous in the abstract expressionist and other major art movements after the War. And finally, we'll consider how Regionalism became such a potent force in the art world of the '30's. We've got some great examples to demonstrate all these issues, and we hope you can tune in on Sunday evening for this week's show. We're on at the usual time, Sunday, September 13, 2015 at 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT. Gary