Proving Rules 2 & 4

  • Rule 2 is "Having 1 collectible valued at $10,000 is better than having 10 collectibles valued at $1,000 each..." and Rule 4 is "Never buy what you like." In several recent shows I've tried to demonstate Rule 2 by profiling recent sales in Roseville pottery and stoneware crocks, but I was thinking that many of you would have thought those examples extreme and almost impossible to duplicate. So, in this week's show I've tried to demonstrate those 2 rules using more reasonably priced examples-- Gustave Baumann woodcuts and Birger Sandzen woodcuts and linocuts. And I've thrown in a few other examples for good measure. Oh, a question for all you "I Buy What I Like" people out there, How's business? Does the world also like what you like? Hope you can join us this coming Sunday evening, February 21, 2016, for this week's program. We're on at 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT. Gary