Rule #6 Share Your Knowledge

  • We've come to the end of my 6th year doing weekly shows on iAntique, and at the conclusion of each year I put forth for your consideration a "rule" to guide dealers in antiques. So, Rule #6--Share Your Knowledge, You Will Be Paid Back is the subject of this week's show. Your knowledge is gained through hard work, time, and money. Why give that asset away for free? Walmart doesn't tell Target its secrets. Christie's and Sotheby's are at each others throats. But have you ever been harmed by giving information to another dealer? I don't think I have. Have you ever prospered by acting on information someone gave you. I have, every day. I'm not making a case for altruism. I think that it makes good business sense to share knowledge with other dealers, with customers, with the general public. Please tune in for this week's show and tell us what you think. We're on at the usual time, Sunday, April 3, 2016 at 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT. Hope you can join us. Gary