Eastlake Furniture

  • Eastlake furniture, normally in walnut, normally with spoon carved designs, was made primarily in the U. S. in the 1870's and 1880's. During our generally depressed market in Victorian furniture over the past 20 years, Eastlake has held up fairly well. The style really owes very little to Charles Eastlake, the British architect & writer, who wrote his influential "Hints on Household Taste in Furniture, Upholstery, and Other Details" in 1868. American furniture makers used his name to market a style which was particularly American. In this week's show we'll examine several pieces of Eastlake furniture to see how they fit in with the furniture designs of the late Victorian era. The iAntique Classifieds currently show 10 pieces of Eastlake furniture: 6 have recently sold, and 4 are currently for sale. The style sells very well in Denver, Colorado, where I am. One reason, I think, for that is that Denver still has many houses built in the 1870's-'80's. Some are in the Queen Anne style, which is particularly well suited for Eastlake furniture. Please join us for this week's show, Sunday, July 17, 2016, at 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT. Gary