RMS Carpathia, Rescue Ship of the Titanic

  • On April 15, 1912 the Titanic hit an iceberg. The closest ship to the Titanic was the RMS Carpathia, but it arrived 2 hours after the Titanic had sunk. Nevertheless, it was able to rescue the 705 passengers who were on the lifeboats. The Carpathia was a Cunard liner; the Titanic was White Star. Those companies were great rivals, but the Captain & crew of the Carpathia did all they could to help the Titanic passengers. It was the maiden voyage of the Titanic, so very few first class collectibles survive. The Carpathia's maiden voyage was in 1903, but it joined the Titanic at the bottom of the Atlantic when it was torpedoed by a German U-Boat in 1918. The same company now owns salvage rights to both ships. I recently bought a steamer trunk from the Carpathia. In the pecking order of ocean liner collectibles I've always thought that Titanic was #1, Lusitania #2, and Carpathia #3. Please join us on Sunday evening for a program on Carpathia collectibles, in particular this rare cabin trunk (malle cabine). I decided to sell this piece direct through the iAntique Classifieds & the Brass Armadillo Antique Mall in Denver, rather than send it to auction, so you can check out the listing before the show. We're on this coming Sunday, October 2, 2016, at 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT. Hope you can join us. Gary