What's Primitive?

  • If something is described as primitive, is that a compliment, is it derogatory? We're all affected by cultural bias, and those of us who grew up in Western culture with a built in love for the CLASSICAL, often think of non-Western art as primitive. Picasso saw value in the primitive, so did Charles Burchfield, so did many other European & American artists in the 20th century. What do you think? Do you like tribal art? Do you like paintings by Native American artists? In this week's show we'll explore the cultural biases that cause us to see things in a certain way. But we're not seeing in necessarily the right way, because maybe there isn't really a right way. After all, why not enjoy things primitive or not?, alien or not? Can we do that? We're on at the usual time this coming Sunday evening, December 11, 2016: 5PM PST, 6PM MST, 7PM CST, 8PM EST. Hope to see you then. Gary