Spanish Bullfighting Memorabilia

  • Spanish bullfighting memorabilia is one of the most popular collecting categories, but unfortunately almost all the material you see in antique stores & online is flawed in some way--it's either a reproduction or a fake or damaged, etc. We'll talk about that in this week's show, but we'll also profile 2 absolutely legitimate pieces, while we discuss the famous bullfighters of the 20th century and what to look for when searching for the real thing. Running with the bulls in Pamplona is still as popular as ever, and the bullfighting season opens during La Semana Santa in Sevilla in a few weeks. I've got a great story about a Basque bullfighter who turned artist who was a friend of Ernses Hemingway and of Antonio Ordonez. Antonio and his rival and brother-in-law, Dominguin, were the antagonists in Hemingway's "The Dangerous Summer" of 1959. Please join us this coming Sunday evening for this week's program: 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT. (For those members outside the U.S. Daylight Savings Time starts Sunday)