William Winer Cooke at the Little Bighorn

  • William Winer Cooke (1846-1876) was General George Armstrong Custer's Adjutant, and he died atop Last Stand Hill with Custer on June 25, 1876. This week's program is devoted to his story, as we are offering for sale at the Brass Armadillo Antique Mall in Denver a pocket watch, fob & chain owned by Cooke, which was taken from his body by a Cheyenne or Lakota warrior on the day he died. Custer commanded the 7th U.S. Cavalry, and William Winer Cooke was in Custer's regiment for the 9 years prior to the Battle of the Little Bighorn. They fought together in the Battle of the Washita in 1868. They were together on the expedition into the Black Hills in 1874, when gold was discovered. Please join us this Sunday evening at 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT for this week's show on the life & death of William Winer Cooke, then please stay tuned for a special video done by Ski Rozanski in 2015, when he described the circumstances under which he acquired this historic artifact of the most famous battle of the Sioux Wars, and one of the most famous battles in American history. Gary