Early 18th Century Chinese Map

  • Our program this coming Sunday, August 6, 2017, will provide the first opportunity for anyone to view one of the most important artifacts of Chinese history--a 24' long map of the Yellow River and surrounding towns and buildings done by the artists of the Imperial Court between 1720 & 1740. It remains in remarkable condition, with colors still vibrant. This extraordinary worrk of art served a military purpose--it provided the Imperor and his generals with vital information about the topography of the domain of the Ching Dynasty in these tumultuous years at the beginning of the 18th century--a time of expansion and material growth. Please join us at the usual time to hear Chris tell us about this very rare item in his world-class collection of Imperial Chinese Art. We're on at 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT. Gary