Transferware or Hand Painted?

  • In this week's show we'll look at many pieces of porcelain & pottery in an attempt to identify which are transfer decorated & which are hand painted. If you've watched the several programs I've done on identifying various kinds of prints and how to distinguish original works of art, then you'll see that this week's show is a lot like that, but instead of works on paper, etc. we'll be examining ceramics. It's trickier than you might think. During the taping of the show I picked up a piece of Alfred Meakin Bleu de Roi thinking that it must be transferware, but then when I examined it with a loop, it looked like it was hand painted. We'll consider whether transferware is always less desirable than hand painted (HINT: it's not), and we'll date the pieces. Hope you can join us this coming Sunday evening, November 19, 2017 for this week's program. We're on at 5PM PST, 6PM MST, 7PM CST, 8PM EST. (If you've got a scheduling conflict, no worry, the video will be up in the Archive a few days afterwards.) Gary